Santa Cruz Warriors

Santa Cruz Warriors Fan Guide

Santa Cruz Warriors Team Profile

Team Name: Santa Cruz Warriors

City: Santa Cruz, CA

NBA Affiliate: Golden State Warriors

Year Founded: 1995

Arena: Kaiser Permanente Arena

History of the Santa Cruz Warriors

The franchise was originally known as the Dakota Wizards, based out of Bismarck, North Dakota. They began playing in 1995 in the International Basketball Association (IBA), and eventually merged with several other teams to form the Continental Basketball Association (CBA) in 2001. The Wizards would once again change leagues in 2006 by joining the NBA Developmental League, where they became an affiliate for the Memphis Grizzlies and Washington Wizards.

Ownership from the Golden State Warriors bought the Wizards as an affiliate team in 2011, and the Wizards officially moved to Santa Cruz during the 2012-2013 season. The team’s relocation to Northern California also encompassed a name change to become the Santa Cruz Warriors.

The Warriors are consistently one of the most popular and successful teams in the NBA G League. Their most recent championship was in 2015 against the Fort Wayne Mad Ants. This team was led by the “D League” version of the “Splash Brothers”, Seth Curry and Mychel Thompson. Curry is one of the most notable G League call-ups from the Santa Cruz Warriors to achieve success in the NBA. Jeremy Lin spent time playing with the Santa Cruz Warriors during the 2020-2021 season following the end of his professional career in the NBA.

Attending a Warriors Home Game

View more at their official website: